Can your teen drive in another state with a learners permit?

Summer is a great time for your teen to get some behind the wheel practice.  It’s also an ideal time for families to take road trips. So put these two things together and it becomes a benefit for all. You’ll have an extra driver on the road and your teen will get additional behind the wheel experience before getting their license.

 

But, is it ok for your teen to drive in another state with only a learners permit?

 

Unfortunately, a lot of states do not allow your teen to drive with their out of state learner’s permit. One of the big reasons for this is due to fact that driving laws vary state by state. So while driving laws are one way in one state, they may be very different in another.

In Wyoming you only have to be 14 to get a learners permit. But in colorado you have to be 15 to get a learners permit. If you go upstate to New York you must be 16 to get a learners permit. So as you can see, driving laws and requirements can vary quite a bit.

So how do you know where your teen can and cannot drive?

You can check the states driver permit requirements online or call their DMV and talk to someone over the phone.

And for more driver education information click here!

 

76 Comments

  • Sam July 29, 2019

    Is a Michigan learners permit valid in Florida

    • Jayne Ubl August 9, 2019

      Yes a Michigan learners permit is valid in Florida as long as you have a licensed driver over 21 in the car when you are driving.
      We are here help.

    • Adry October 5, 2019

      Can a 16 yrs old with indiana driver’s permit drive in Michigan? For a day

      • Jayne Ubl October 5, 2019

        Adry, A person 16 years of age or older holding a valid learner’s permit may drive in Michigan providing they follow restrictions mandated by their State. The person must, however, be accompanied by another licensed driver who is at least 21 years of age and is seated beside the holder of the learner’s permit.
        Hope that helps.
        The DriveSafeRideSafe Team

  • Mel August 12, 2019

    Is a Nebraska permit valid in Ohio?

    • Jayne Ubl August 14, 2019

      Mel, A Nebraska permit is valid in Ohio if you are driving with a licensed driver aged 21 or older.
      Hope that helps.

  • Miki August 16, 2019

    Is a Virginia state learner’s permit valid in Tennessee?

    • Jayne Ubl August 17, 2019

      Miki, Tennessee recognizes valid out-of-state Learner’s Permits. However, if you become a resident you will need to replace your out-of-state permit with a TN Permit. This will require you submitting the necessary documents and passing a vision test.

  • Ruth August 18, 2019

    Is a Rhode Island learners permit valid in Upstate New York???

    • Jayne Ubl August 18, 2019

      Ruth,
      New York will recognize another state’s learner’s permit subject to the restrictions printed on it and the New York State restrictions for junior driver licenses under 18. A person with a valid out-of-state license for the vehicle being driven may accompany a junior driver. You may not drive in New York state if you are under 16, even if you are licensed in another state. An out of state learner’s permit is “NOT” valid in New York City. In all areas of the state except New York City, Nassau or Suffolk counties, a nonresident licensee under 18 years of age may operate a vehicle from 5 a.m. to 9 p.m. when accompanied by a licensed driver over 18 years of age. He may operate a motor vehicle between the hours of 9 p.m. to 5 a.m. only when accompanied by a licensed parent or guardian.

  • Sam S. August 27, 2019

    Can I use my Georgia permit (15 years old) in Wisconsin?

    • Jayne Ubl August 28, 2019

      Sam, The answer is not until you are 16. Here is what the law states “In order to drive in Wisconsin with a Learner’s Permit issued by other states, drivers must be 16 years of age, follow the restrictions of their own licenses or permits, and follow the rules of the road, traffic laws, of Wisconsin.”

      • Sam S. August 28, 2019

        Thank you!

        • DSRS August 29, 2019

          Your welcome. We are here to help!

  • Andrea O Craig August 28, 2019

    Can an Arizona permit driver drive in California?

  • Kristen September 6, 2019

    Can my 16 year old daughter use an Indiana Learner’s Permit to drive in New Orleans?
    Thanks
    Kristen

    • Jayne Ubl September 6, 2019

      Kristen,
      In New Orleans an out-of-state learner’s permit is valid in Louisiana for driving purposes. Louisiana requires that anyone with a learner’s permit must be accompanied by a licensed adult driver at least 21.

      • Kristen September 7, 2019

        Thank you!!!

        • Jayne Ubl September 8, 2019

          Your welcome. We are here to help!
          The DriveSafeRideSafe Team

          • DMP October 5, 2019

            Can my 18 year old teen use a Massachusetts learners permit in California ? Trying to give him highway practice .

          • Jayne Ubl October 5, 2019

            Dawn, If you are a visitor in California, between 16 and 18 years old, you may drive here with your home state license or instruction permit for only 10 days after you arrive in California. After 10 days you must have either a Nonresident Minor’s Certificate or a California license.

  • Helene Wallace September 7, 2019

    Can an Illinois permit be used in Indiana, Michigan or Wisconsin?

    • Jayne Ubl September 8, 2019

      Helen, In Indiana, a holder of an out of state learner’s permit may legally operate a vehicle in Indiana as long as they follow the guidelines of the state in which that permit was issued. The seat beside the holder must be occupied by a guardian or relative of the holder who holds a valid operator’s, chauffeur’s or public passenger chauffeur’s license .

      In both Wisconsin and Michigan a person 16 years of age or older holding a valid learner’s permit may drive in Michigan providing they follow restrictions mandated by their State. The person must, however, be accompanied by another licensed driver who is at least 21 years of age and is seated beside the holder of the learner’s permit.

      Make sure to always drive safe and ride safe.
      Let us know if you need more information.
      We are here to help.
      The DriveSafeRideSafe Team

      • RITABF October 26, 2019

        I’m also fairly certain while driving in Indiana the guardian or relative in the front seat with the Illinois permitted driver must be 25 years of age unless it’s the permitted drivers spouse and then can be 21.

  • Kim September 9, 2019

    Can my teen driver who is 16 with a permit, drive from Indiana to Illinois?

    • Jayne Ubl September 10, 2019

      Kim,

      Your teen driver with a permit can drive as long as they follow the rules below which mainly states your teen driver needs a guardian or relative with a full license to accompany them.
      Indiana -Will accept any valid learner’s permit subject to restrictions mandated by the issuing state.

      Illiois -A holder of an out of state learner’s permit may legally operate a vehicle in Indiana as long as they follow the guidelines of the state in which that permit was issued. The seat beside the holder must be occupied by a guardian or relative of the holder who holds a valid operator’s, chauffeur’s or public passenger chauffeur’s license.

      Thanks for helping us create smarter drivers, safer roads.
      We are here to help.
      The DriveSafeRideSafe Team

    • Jayne Ubl September 10, 2019

      Kim, In Indiana, a holder of an out of state learner’s permit may legally operate a vehicle in Indiana as long as they follow the guidelines of the state in which that permit was issued. The seat beside the holder must be occupied by a guardian or relative of the holder who holds a valid operator’s, chauffeur’s or public passenger chauffeur’s license .

      In both Wisconsin and Michigan a person 16 years of age or older holding a valid learner’s permit may drive in Michigan providing they follow restrictions mandated by their State. The person must, however, be accompanied by another licensed driver who is at least 21 years of age and is seated beside the holder of the learner’s permit.

      Make sure to always drive safe and ride safe.
      Let us know if you need more information.
      We are here to help.
      The DriveSafeRideSafe Team

    • houck October 17, 2019

      Can you drive in Georgia with a Tennessee driving permit? (15)

      • Jayne Ubl October 22, 2019

        Houck,

        You are good to go in Georgia as they will accept any valid learner’s permit subject to restrictions mandated by the issuing state.

        DriveSafe!

        We are here to help!

        The DriveSafeRideSafe Team

  • James September 10, 2019

    can I drive through NH, MA, and RI with a maine learners permit (15)

    • Jayne Ubl September 11, 2019

      James, Here is the information for Maryland, New Hampshire and Rhode Island.

      Maryland- permits an individual to use a learner’s instructional permit provided that the permit holder is at least the same age as that required of a resident for the vehicle being driven in this State ( 15 years + 9 months ), and that the individual is accompanied by and under the immediate supervision of an individual who is a least 21 years of age, has been licensed for at least three years to drive vehicles of the class being driven and unless the vehicle is a motorcycle, is seated beside the holder of the learner’s instructional permit.

      Rhode Island-Will accept any valid learner’s permit subject to restriction mandated by the issuing state provided that issuing state accepts their state permit. (Reciprocity)

      New Hampshire- “In New Hampshire they don’t issue learner’s permits at all. Anyone 15 1/2 or over can drive with their parent/guardian OR any licensed driver 25 or over. They only need proof of their birth date (which can even be their learner’s permit if it has that information on it). This applies to out-of-state drivers as well” – checked this with the NH DMV, and it appears to be correct!)

      We are here to Help.
      DriveSafeRideSafe.com
      Check out our FREE online Driving Videos that show you an indepth look at the Anatomy of a Car Crash.
      https://drivesaferidesafe.leadpages.co/carcam-academy-getcarcam-2017-02-10/

  • Tammy September 13, 2019

    Is a Michigan permit valid in Ohio

    • Jayne Ubl September 14, 2019

      Tammy,
      Ohio laws state -Nonresidents, permitted to drive upon the highways of their own states, may operate any motor vehicle upon any highway in this state without examination or license upon condition that such nonresidents may be required at any time or place to prove lawful possession, or their right to operate such motor vehicle, and to establish proper identity. Nonresidents must adhere to the restrictions outlined for the temporary permit.

      Hope this helps. If you have other questions about driving or would like additional help from our Driving expert Mike please like us facebook at drivesaferidesafe.

      We are here to help.

  • Jill September 14, 2019

    Can my 15 1/2 year old with an Arizona learner’s permit drive legally in Texas?

    • Jayne Ubl September 14, 2019

      Jill,
      We are sorry to say that your teen must be 16 to drive legally in Texas. The state says-A nonresident who is at least sixteen (16) years of age may drive in Texas with a Learner’s Permit from another state provided the person complies with all provisions of our statute. The instruction permit is a driving permit that will enable a beginning driver to drive with someone in the front seat that is 18 years of age or older and holds a valid license.

  • teryn dirks September 20, 2019

    Is a missouri learners permit valid in Oklahoma, Kansas, and Texas

    • Jayne Ubl September 22, 2019

      Teryn,
      Missouri states-Missouri laws do not allow an individual to operate a motor vehicle on the roadways of this state unless the driver is at least 15 years and 182 days old, has passed the written test, possesses a valid Restricted Temporary Instruction Permit, and operates a vehicle with a parent, grandparent or guardian. A disabled parent, grandparent or guardian may designate a maximum of two persons to accompany the driver in the vehicle for the purpose of giving instruction in driving. The designated person must be at least 21 years of age, must occupy the seat beside the driver and must be a licensed operator for the type of motor vehicle being operated.

      Oklahoma state-Oklahoma law indicates that a person sixteen years of age or older who is properly licensed in his home state or country will be allowed to operate a vehicle in this state as long as he is in compliance with all restrictions of his license.

      Kansas state- Will accept any valid learner’s permit subject to restrictions mandated by the issuing state.
      Texas says-A nonresident who is at least sixteen (16) years of age may drive in Texas with a Learner’s Permit from another state provided the person complies with all provisions of our statute. The instruction permit is a driving permit that will enable a beginning driver to drive with someone in the front seat that is 18 years of age or older and holds a valid license.

      Hope this helps. We are here to help.
      DriveSafeRideSafe.com

  • Katie Baker September 21, 2019

    Can my 15 year old with a learners permit from TN drive in Ky, oh, pa, and NY.

    • Jayne Ubl September 22, 2019

      Katie,
      Below are the rules for the Tennessee, Kentucky, Ohio, Pennsylvania and New York. It looks to be that Ohio and Tennessee would be the only two states your teen can drive at least until he/she is 16.
      Tennessee states-Tennessee DMV recognizes out of state drivers license, but not necessarily an out of state permit. Emails with the state DMV suggest that the state does accept some permits, but not others.

      Pennsylvania, DOES NOT ALLOW>- nonresident who is in possession of a valid learner’s permit from their home state may “NOT” operate a Motor Vehicle while traveling through Pennsylvania. Pennsylvania law recognizes valid driver licenses issued in the person’s home state, but does not authorize
      the use of a learner’s permit issued in another state.

      Kentucky -State law in Kentucky allows the holder of a valid instruction permit issued by their home state/jurisdiction to operate a motor vehicle. The driver must be at least 16 years of age and abide by the following restrictions: 1) licensed operator over the age of 21 must be in the front seat beside the driver; 2) no operation between the hours of 12 Midnight and 6:00 A.M. Also, the operator would be required to adhere to any other restrictions placed on the operation of the motor vehicle by the issuing state.

      New York-New York will recognize another state’s learner’s permit subject to the restrictions printed on it and the New York State restrictions for junior driver licenses under 18. A person with a valid out-of-state license for the vehicle being driven may accompany a junior driver. You may not drive in New York state if you are under 16, even if you are licensed in another state. An out of state learner’s permit is “NOT” valid in New York City. In all areas of the state except New York City, Nassau or Suffolk counties, a nonresident licensee under 18 years of age may operate a vehicle from 5 a.m. to 9 p.m. when accompanied by a licensed driver over 18 years of age. He may operate a motor vehicle between the hours of 9 p.m. to 5 a.m. only when accompanied by a licensed parent or guardian.

      Ohio state-Nonresidents, permitted to drive upon the highways of their own states, may operate any motor vehicle upon any highway in this state without examination or license upon condition that such nonresidents may be required at any time or place to prove lawful possession, or their right to operate such motor vehicle, and to establish proper identity. Nonresidents must adhere to the restrictions outlined for the temporary permit.

      We are here to help.
      DriveSafeRideSafe

  • Ashli September 29, 2019

    Can my 15 year old with a FL learners permit drive in MI with a licensed driver over 21?

    • Jayne Ubl September 30, 2019

      Ashli,

      You or your teen will have to wait awhile to drive in Michigan as Michigan’s law states that a person 16 years of age or older holding a valid learner’s permit may drive in Michigan providing they follow restrictions mandated by their State. The person must, however, be accompanied by another licensed driver who is at least 21 years of age and is seated beside the holder of the learner’s permit.

      We are here to help.
      DriveSafeRideSafe.com

  • Heather October 2, 2019

    Our 18 year old has a MD permit. Can she drive with us in NC? And can she have our 3 year old in the car with us as well?

    • Jayne Ubl October 3, 2019

      Heather- The state of North Carolina says-Any nonresident driving in North Carolina who is at least 16 years old and is abiding by the restrictions on their learner’s permit or license as required by the issuing State is authorized to drive in this State.
      So in essence she is okay to drive in North Carolina as long as she has a licensed driver at least 21 years of age in the car. In regards to her 3 year old baby- its okay because she is related.

      Hope that helps.
      Sincerely, the DriveSafeRideSafe Team

  • Chris October 4, 2019

    Is a Mississippi permit allowed in Louisiana?

    • Jayne Ubl October 5, 2019

      Chris, An out-of-state learner’s permit is valid in Louisiana for driving purposes. Louisiana requires that anyone with a learner’s permit must be accompanied by a licensed adult driver at least 21.
      Hope this helps!

      The DriveSafeRideSafe Team

    • Jayne Ubl October 5, 2019

      Chris, An out-of-state learner’s permit is valid in Louisiana for driving purposes. Louisiana requires that anyone with a learner’s permit must be accompanied by a licensed adult driver at least 21.
      Hope that helps.
      Sincerely, the DriveSafeRideSafe Team

  • Lucas October 7, 2019

    Can I drive in New Jersey with a Colorado permit? (I’m 15)

    • Jayne Ubl October 8, 2019

      Lucas, It looks like its a go for you to drive in New Jersay

      New Jersey says -A student with a valid learner’s permit from another state may legally drive in New Jersey provided the vehicle he is operating is properly titled, registered and insured in the home state. Further, the permit holder will be subject to the laws of his home state.
      We are here to help.
      DriveSafeRideSafe.com

  • Kayla McGee October 10, 2019

    Can I use my out of state learners permit to drive with my family in Missouri

    • Jayne Ubl October 11, 2019

      Kayla, I do not know your age but Missouri laws do not allow an individual to operate a motor vehicle on the roadways of this state unless the driver is at least 15 years and 182 days old, has passed the written test, possesses a valid Restricted Temporary Instruction Permit, and operates a vehicle with a parent, grandparent or guardian. A disabled parent, grandparent or guardian may designate a maximum of two persons to accompany the driver in the vehicle for the purpose of giving instruction in driving. The designated person must be at least 21 years of age, must occupy the seat beside the driver and must be a licensed operator for the type of motor vehicle being operated.

  • Angela October 10, 2019

    Can you drive in Oklahoma with a Montana permit (age 14)?

    • Jayne Ubl October 11, 2019

      Angela, you are in luck Montana says the will accept any valid learner’s permit subject to restrictions mandated by the issuing state as long as they are accompanied by a valid license driver.

  • Sriram Pradeep October 11, 2019

    Can you drive in Virginia with a Maryland Learner’s permit ?

    • Jayne Ubl October 11, 2019

      Siriam,
      Virginia will accept any valid learner’s permit subject to restrictions mandated by the issuing state as long as a person is at least 15 years of age and that person is accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years of age or if the licensed driver is a sibling, 18 years of age.

  • Jean October 12, 2019

    Can my kids drive in Colorado with a Minnesota Learner’s permit?

    • Jayne Ubl October 13, 2019

      Jean, Your 15 year old permit drivers from Minnesota can drive in Montana as the state accepts any valid learner’s permit subject to restrictions mandated by the issuing state as long as they are accompanied by a valid license driver.

      We are here to help.
      Sincerely,
      The DriveSafeRideSafe team

      • Jean October 13, 2019

        What about Colorado?

        • Jayne Ubl October 13, 2019

          Jean,
          Colorado will accept any valid learners permit subject to restrictions mandated by the issuing state.
          We are here to help.
          Good luck,
          The DriveSafeRideSafe team

          • Jean October 14, 2019

            Thank you so much. This is a really fantastic website.

  • AJ O October 13, 2019

    Can my 15yr old drive in Georgia with his learners permit ?

    • Jayne Ubl October 13, 2019

      AJ – Georgia will accept any valid learner’s permit subject to restrictions mandated by the issuing state.

      We are here to help.
      DriveSafeRideSafe

  • Paige October 15, 2019

    can i drive in wisconsin with my florida permit?

    • Jayne Ubl October 15, 2019

      Paige, Florida says that any person with an out-of-state learners license must comply with Florida’s laws while driving in Florida. A learner’s license requires that a licensed driver 21 years or older ride in the front passenger seat. In addition, they can only drive during daylight hours during their first three months with a permit and only until 10 p.m. thereafter.
      Hope this helps.
      Sincerely, the DriveSafeRideSafe Team

  • Joe October 15, 2019

    Can a 15 year old with a permit in washington drive in california?

    • Jayne Ubl October 16, 2019

      Joe,
      We are sorry to say you need to be 16 to drive in California.If you are a visitor in California, between 16 and 18 years old, you may drive here with your home state license or instruction permit for only 10 days after you arrive in California. After 10 days you must have either a Nonresident Minor’s Certificate or a California license.

      Hope that helps.
      The DriveSafeRideSafe Team

  • Ricardo October 21, 2019

    How about a PA permit in the state of Minnesota?

    • Jayne Ubl October 22, 2019

      Ricardo,
      Minnesota allows a nonresident who is 15 years of age or older, and who has a valid instruction permit from their home state, may drive in Minnesota, provided that all restrictions on the permit are obeyed.

      We are here to help!

      The DriveSafeRideSafe Team

  • Jane October 27, 2019

    Can an adult (over 21yrs old) with a learners permit from Washington State drive in California?

    • Jane October 27, 2019

      Also wondering about Oregon, same scenario. thank you in advance!

      • Jayne Ubl October 30, 2019

        Jane, You need to be a licensed driver in both California or Oregon, if you only have a permit you must be accompanied by a license driver at least 21 years of age in the front seat of their vehicle.

    • Jayne Ubl October 30, 2019

      Jane,
      If you are a visitor in California, between 16 and 18 years old, you may drive here with your home state license or instruction permit for only 10 days after you arrive in California. After 10 days you must have either a Nonresident Minor’s Certificate or a California license.

  • Huhg October 30, 2019

    So what about, i’m 15 in South Dakota, and i could drive at 14, when i get my full license at 16, can i drive in Minnesota like i have a full license.

    • Jayne Ubl October 30, 2019

      Huhg,
      If you are 16 with a full license from South Dakota you can drive in Minnesota as a full license driver.

  • William P November 1, 2019

    Several times there are references to drivers with permits being allowed to drive in California. California does NOT recognize permits from other states. Driving with a permit from another state is a violation of Section 12500(a) of the California Vehicle Code, which is a misdemeanor. Your vehicle may also be subject to impound. If you are between 16-18 years of age, you may operate a motor vehicle in California for up to 10 days from the date of entry IF you have a Driver’s License from your home state. The 10-day exception, which can be found in Section 12504 of the California Vehicle Code, does not apply to permits.

    • Jayne Ubl November 4, 2019

      William, Do you mean a driver with a permit cannot drive with a legal aged licensed driver in the passenger seat for the 10 day period or while driving through the state???

Add Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.