The course includes-
- Parent Guidebook – This 100 page book is divided into ten chapters. In each chapter you will find an introduction from Mike that will help you understand how teach each lesson like a pro and help your student enjoy a well-rounded driver education. There is also a detailed outline for each chapter that mirrors how Mike teaches the course in his own classroom. The guidebook includes a variety of critical thinking questions and enrichment activities that will build your teen’s confidence and defensive driving skills. We give you all the answers to the 10 worksheets. 10 quizzes and two practice final exams to make it easy for you to correct your teens work and see how they are progressing throughout the course. Click for sample pages.
- Student Workbook – This 96 page student workbook is divided into 10 chapters. Each chapter includes a combination of reading assignments, discussions with parents, enrichment activities, videos, 10 quizzes, two practice final exams and Mike Pehls’ words of wisdom at the front of each chapter that will keep your teen stay engaged in the process and help them get a well-rounded driver education experience. Click for sample pages.
- Roadworthy “A Parent’s Guide to Teaching Teens to Drive” DVD – This video includes 12 essential behind the wheel lessons taught by Veteran Crash Investigator, Mike Pehl. Mike uses his unique perspective and no-nonsense teaching style to walk parents and newly permitted teens through the behind the wheel practice process. These lessons provide practical advice and easy to follow demonstrations that will help teens drive safely and parents to sleep soundly. Click here to view PDF file with detailed chapter descriptions.
- Triple AAA Book – How to Drive – This 400 page illustrated book includes much more background information about driving safety than the driver’s ed manuals for most states. Written in clear, concise language for beginning drivers, this book emphasizes the information and processes needed to maneuver safely and communicate effectively with other drivers on the road.
Minnesota Driver Manual – We offer the printed version of the Minnesota Driver Manual. This manual provides a summary of state laws, rules and techniques to follow in order to drive safely and legally in Minnesota.
This item also includes FREE SHIPPING on all the printed materials we will send you.
MINNESOTA LAW IN REGARDS TO IN-HOME DRIVER ED
Minnesota law approves home school parents to teach the classroom portion of driver education to students under the age of 18 when the student is receiving full-time instruction in a home school, within the meaning of Minnesota Statutes 120A.22 and 120A.24, the student is working toward a home-school diploma and the student is using driver training classroom materials approved by the commissioner of Public Safety.
To provide the classroom portion of driver education, you must meet the following requirements:
- Your son or daughter must be at least 14 years of age.
- You must comply with the Minnesota rules governing classroom instruction. Attached are a summary of these rules and a list of pre-approved textbooks and other resources that you may use. If you wish to use classroom materials other than those on the list, you must contact this office for approval.
- When your child has completed the required 30 hours of classroom instruction, you may go to our website and complete the Home School Driver’s Education Affidavit, print the completed affidavit, and mail or fax it to the Office of Driver Education. The affidavit may be found at https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/dvs/forms-documents/Documents/HomeSchoolAffidavit.pdf
- Upon receipt of your completed affidavit, this office will send a proof-of-classroom completion document to you. You must present this document to the behind-the-wheel instruction provider to obtain a Certificate of Enrollment (blue card) for your student. Bring the blue card, along with a primary and a secondary form of identification, when you go to the state examining station for the knowledge test. Your child must be at least 15 years of age to take the knowledge test. Please refer to the Minnesota Driver’s Manual for acceptable forms of identification. After your child has passed the knowledge test, he or she may apply for an instruction permit.
- In order to take the road test your child must:
- Be at least 16 years old and have his or her original instruction permit or plastic instruction permit in possession.
- Have completed driver’s education and have the white course completion card.
- Have held an instruction permit for at least six months with no convictions for moving violations or alcohol/controlled substance violations.
- Present a supervised driving log verifying that they have driven under the supervision of a licensed driver at least 21 years of age, for not less than 50 hours, at least 15 of which were at night; or if a parent/guardian completes the parent class and submits a certificate of completion to the driver exam staff at the time of the road test, 40 hours, 15 of which were at night.
- The parent, court appointed guardian, county appointed foster parent or director of the transitional living program in which the child resides must approve the driver’s license application.